MATHO Review Game – Powerpoint Template

MATHO is a version of Bingo.  It is great for review.  Students work problems and then if they get the problem correct they get to mark off a number on their MATHO board.  First person to get five in a row wins!

I used to play this game all of the time, but had forgotten about it.  When I brought it back, I used technology to make it better!  I put the MATHO board (word document) into a page protector with dry erase makers, and a Powerpoint to make it very easy for me to implement in the classroom.

Procedure:

  1. Pass out MATHO sheets inside page protectors and dry erase markers.
  2. Students pick any one space to be a FREE space.
  3. Students randomly number the remaining blocks 1 – 24.

I put up a problem and students work out the answer on their whiteboards, then show it to me.  If they get the answer correct, they get to mark off the number I call out on their MATHO boards.

For instance:  After the first problem, I call out the number 14.  If they get the problem right then they can mark off 14 on their boards.  I mark off each number on the mini-Matho board in the bottom corner to keep track of the numbers I have called.  This also helps check to see if their numbers are accurate when they call out MATHO.

As usual, about 1/2 way through the class a student calls out MATHO! and gets a prize from the prize pail.  At this time, I have all students erase their entire boards, renumber, and then we start all over.  Before I used the “erasable” MATHO board I would just keep going and say, “next one to get 5 in a row” or “first one to get the whole board” to keep them going.  But, erasing and re-writing the board so you can start all over prevents 6 students from getting MATHO again in 5 minutes at the same time.

Files for MATHO Game:

http://www.box.net/shared/y4n217vfq1

I am new to Box, so if the link doesn’t work please let me know.

http://www.box.net//static/flash/box_explorer.swf?widget_hash=y4n217vfq1&v=0&cl=0&s=0

3 thoughts on “MATHO Review Game – Powerpoint Template

  1. Pingback: Powerpoint Game Templates – TEMPLATES

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Math Games | I Speak Math

  3. Pingback: Practice Strategies and Games – Alternatives to 1-31 odd | More Fertile Ground

What do you think?