Life Sized Human Graphing


Today I did a lesson with 6th grade called Linear Graphs:  Life-Sized Coordinate Pairs  that I found on the Teaching Channel.  Definitely go there and watch the video.  It explains it in great detail!

To do Life Sized Human Graphing put a giant coordinate graph on the floor and then give the kids a rule.  They must come up with an ordered pair that fits the rule and then go and stand on their ordered pair.

I taped a coordinate plane on the floor with painters tape.  I also had each student wear a dry-erase necklace to write the ordered pair on so everyone could see their ordered pair.  They kept saying, “Does my ordered pair work?”   I kept saying, “Go graph yourself and see!”.  The class stayed engaged the entire time, and were even “overly engaged” arguing about the math at points.  I love that. After the first few examples I let them ALL come up and get in line instead of just four or five.  I did this mostly because they begged me.  They couldn’t wait to get up and see if their point fell on the line!

Whole Body Graphing ispeakmath

I used Max’s “noticings” in this as well.  They first noticed that they were all in a line.  Then they noticed that the line was steeper when it was 2x or 3x.  They noticed that 2x made the y-value go up by 2, 3x by 3, and so on.  The connections that were made today were amazing and I hope that they carry over tomorrow when I introduce slope (aka rate of change)!

I also made a powerpoint so that the game would be easy to manage.  Just click to follow the link and download the file from the Math Wiki.  After we start graphing linear equations I want to try Graphing Full Body Style!

Life Sized Graphing ppt

 

5 thoughts on “Life Sized Human Graphing

  1. Since I introduce the concept of integers to my 6th graders, I do something along this line. I tape out the room into the 4 quadrants, give them each a half a deck of cards. They turn over one card of their partial deck on cue and the rule is: if it is a red card, it is negative, black, it is positive, even number, go to the upper quad, odd number, go to the lower quad. They must then find a partner in their quadrant and create their ordered pair. We then check (they self-regulate a lot) to see if everyone is correct before we turn over the next cards. I’m looking for a modification to this so they don’t get too locked into the wrong idea that even numbers are always in Quadrants I & II, and odds are always in III & IV. Any suggestions?

  2. Pingback: 5th & 6th Grade Math Filing Cabinet | The Math Lab @ Room 27

  3. Pingback: Re-thinking classroom questioning to improve student understanding | Ed Leader

What do you think?